COVID-19 - Learning From Home

We are confident that we can provide online learning for students remotely if that is necessary due to vulnerable, at risk students being away from school for extended periods of time, or if the school were to be asked to close. 

This confidence is based on:
- the implementation of our existing digital strategy
- the responses to an online survey sent to students
- subsequent follow up phone calls home where necessary to clarify information. 

To support effective online learning we do need parents/caregivers who are yet to connect to their child’s Seesaw ePortfolio to do so. Seesaw is already used to set tasks for learning and connect parents with their children’s learning. If the school has to close or more students are needing to work from home, the use of Seesaw to communicate information about learning to students and their families will increase. Well over 90% of our families are connected to their children’s learning already through Seesaw. If you have not connected this is a reminder that you will have received information previously by email and also at our recent learning conferences. If you are unable to locate this information could please make contact with your child’s teacher by email so this process can be completed.

Teachers' email contact details

Hillary Team
 - Teacher H1 - Kate Meder - k.meder@chchsouth.ac.nz 
 - Teacher H2 -  Sarah Bouwmans - s.bouwmans@chchsouth.ac.nz 
 - Teacher H3 -  Jimaya TeRangi-Henare - j.terangi@chchsouth.ac.nz 
 - Teacher H4 - Hayden Barr - h.barr@chchsouth.ac.nz

Ngata Team  
 - Teacher N1 - Maria Carter - m.carter@chchsouth.ac.nz
 - Teacher N2 -  Hamish Nichols - h.nichols@chchsouth.ac.nz 
 - Teacher N3 - Will Fleming - w.fleming@chchsouth.ac.nz 
 - Teacher N4 - Kelly McIntosh - k.mcintosh@chchsouth.ac.nz

Rutherford Team
 - Teacher R1 - Libby Gent - l.gent@chchsouth.ac.nz 
 - Teacher R2 - Gae Johns - g.johns@chchsouth.ac.nz 
 - Teacher R3 - Kate Walters - k.walters@chchsouth.ac.nz 
 - Teacher R4 - Nick McBrearty - n.mcbrearty@chchsouth.ac.nz 

Sheppard Team  
 - Teacher S1 - Joe Gauld - j.gauld@chchsouth.ac.nz 
 - Teacher S2 - Charlotte Grant - c.grant@chchsouth.ac.nz 
 - Teacher S3 - Inga Solofuti - i.solofuti@chchsouth.ac.nz
 - Teacher S4 - Sarah Hickman - s.hickman@chchsouth.ac.nz 

Specialists  
 - Science - Ian Harrison - i.harrison@chchsouth.ac.nz  
 - Food Technology - Aaron Nixon - a.nixon@chchsouth.ac.nz 
 - Digitech - Jesse Callaghan - j.callaghan@chchsouth.ac.nz
 - Hard Materials Technology - Peter Laing - p.laing@chchsouth.ac.nz
 - Visual Arts - Abby Meakin - a.meakin@chchsouth.ac.nz
 - Te Reo Māori - Chloe Riches - c.riches@chchsouth.ac.nz